Categories
Books Church Culture Philosophy Politics Theology

Working through Christian Nationalism…

I recently picked up Paul Miller’s book on Christian Nationalism, titled “The Religion of American Greatness: What’s Wrong with Christian Nationalism.” This is my first foray into engaging with this concept, at least in a written medium. I’ve had conversations with various people, some who oppose the idea vehemently, some who outright support it, and others who are uncertain as to exactly what it is, why its important, and why we should care.

I think in working through the issues, and trying to think well about them, I should just open up with the myriad of questions that I have collected. I’m sure they’re not exhaustive, but they are what I’m starting with and I aim to try and get some answers. Perhaps, like me, you’ve had similar questions. Hopefully we can learn and dialogue together along the way.

I’ve always found that engaging ideas and asking questions is the least threatening thing I can do, and in fact the more challenging work comes in learning and knowing what questions should be asked and answered. I would go amiss if I didn’t say that sometimes asking the questions can feel scary. In this culture, especially on social media or in person, to simply pose the question is enough to “rile up the villagers!!” It might even be enough to ruin a reputation. Too dramatic? Maybe. But enough talking, lets get to the questions! Here they are, in no certain order of importance:

  1. What is Christian Nationalism?
  2. How does American Exceptionalism fit into Christian Nationalism?
  3. What, actually, is Patriotism? Can I be a Christian and a patriot, without falling into Christian Nationalism?
  4. Am I a “bad” American if I reject Christian Nationalism? Would I be considered a “bad” Christian?
  5. Is Christian Nationalism an attempt at Kingdom Theology? Is there a construal between the idea of “America” and the Kingdom of God?
  6. How did Christian Nationalism arise? What is the historical trajectory? Why did previous generations of Christians think this was a good thing?
  7. How is Christian Nationalism and a desire for justice connected?
  8. Do Christian Nationalist think that their vision of America is also a vision of heaven, so that American politics done right is a picture of heaven itself?
  9. Is Christian Nationalism itself a part of modern political philosophy?
  10. If Christian Nationalism is in my local church, what do I do? How do I engage it?
  11. Should I leave my local church if a majority of people there are Christian Nationalists or hold to a large number of the beliefs found within Christian Nationalism?
  12. If I am a pastor of a local church, how do I walk through the ideological, theological, and political motivations connected with Christian Nationalism, and how do I love the people well in my church that strongly hold to those views, either through cultural upbringing, deep study, or both?
  13. What are the motivations of people who consider themselves Christian Nationalists or who hold to a number of views espoused by Christian Nationalism?

I look forward to getting some answers to some of these questions, and at least a bit of traction in answering them as I read Miller’s work. Make no mistake, though, as I am not expecting Miller’s work to be the silver bullet that will answer all of my questions. But, I think his is a good resource to use that can help Christians in the Church to understand more about this phenomena of Christian Nationalism, and its rise in the political and conservative sectors of American Evangelicalism.

I will be attempting to post a chapter-by-chapter engagement/response, though I do think that there might be times where a single chapter may elicit a number of posts as I think through them. I hope you’ll come along for the trip, and engage with me!